You’ve started to huff and puff as you climb the stairs and your waist has definitely thickened. It’s time to get back in shape!

After conducting the usual research, you sign up for a gym that’s located close to work. For a while, you manage to work out 3-4 times a week and then… nothing. Once you attain a minimally good physical condition, you simply lose the motivation to keep training on a regular basis. Your good intentions and discipline give way in the face of other urgent priorities.

Interestingly, we’ve noticed a similar pattern with the marketing activities of many companies—especially B2Bs. You decide to review your positioning, proceed to adjust your brand strategy and even devote significant effort to building a new website. Once launched, you just sit back and wait for results, as if it were 10-20 years ago. But this situation is the equivalent of renovating a boutique, but forgetting to put a sign up outside that will get clients through your door.

The key to good ROI: having an implementation plan!

In order to enjoy the bounty of your investment, it’s crucial to create a plan that supports deployment and regular maintenance activities. Think of your brand and your company as chapters in a book: Positioning is chapter 1, brand expression and the website are chapter 2. The writing of your company “book”, comprising many chapters and volumes, is an ongoing process.

Curiously, when I ask companies why they don’t have a plan, more than one president has told me that their competition doesn’t engage in marketing, so they feel no pressure to engage in that kind of activity.

My answer is always one of the following:

  • “So you’re not interested in differentiating your brand?”
  • “So you’re not interested in winning market shares from those careless companies?”
  • “So you’re not interested in building a strong brand that becomes a market leader?”

Act on a regular basis to give your marketing some muscle

To prevent the inevitable dip in your sales department, you must build, as well as maintain, solid communications activities. A brand that doesn’t communicate is a brand that cannot sustain a consistent presence in the one place where it needs one: in the minds of clients and prospects.

Your marketing and brand strategy is not unlike that new workout program: let it drop for a few weeks and you’ll soon feel the difference in your relationship with your market—and it will happen faster than you think.

Should your competition take advantages of this gap to launch a marketing push, you’ll find yourself lagging behind, weighed down by ineffective tools, such as that inactive website.

In choosing to work with marketing professionals like Solocom, you’ll be guided, step-by-step, through the process of creating and maintaining a strong and outstanding brand.

Si vous avez quelques kilos à perdre, en plus d’être essoufflé lorsque vous montez les escaliers, il est temps de vous remettre en forme !

Après les étapes usuelles de recherche, vous vous abonnez à un centre d’activité physique près du bureau, y allez 3/4 fois par semaine pendant un certain temps. Puis, plus rien : vous avez retrouvé une forme physique minimale et vous n’avez plus la motivation de vous entrainer de façon régulière. La bonne volonté et la discipline cèdent le pas aux autres urgences de la vie.

Curieusement, nous observons une très grande similitude avec les actions marketing de plusieurs entreprises, surtout en B2B. Vous décidez de revoir votre positionnement, travailler votre stratégie de marque en plus de déployer beaucoup d’efforts à bâtir un nouveau site Web. Une fois lancé, vous vous attendez à ce que tout se fasse sans aucun autre effort comme il y a 10 ou 20 ans. Cette inaction est l’équivalent de rénover une boutique sans mettre d’enseigne à l’extérieur pour attirer les clients.

Ayez un plan d’implantation : c’est la clé du retour sur investissement

Afin de récolter le fruit de vos investissements, il est primordial de vous doter d’un plan de déploiement et de l’entretenir avec des actions régulières. Comparez votre marque et votre entreprise à la rédaction d’un livre : votre positionnement est dans le chapitre 1, l’expression de la marque et votre site Web sont dans le chapitre 2. Votre livre d’entreprise, composé de tous les chapitres et tomes à venir, reste à écrire.

Curieusement, quand je les interroge sur leur manque de plan, plusieurs présidents d’entreprise me répondent que leurs concurrents ne posent plus aucune action marketing et qu’ils ne sentent donc plus la pression d’agir à leur tour. Ma réponse est toujours une des suivantes :

  • Vous n’êtes pas pressé de vous démarquer?
  • Vous n’êtes pas pressé de prendre des parts de marché à des insouciants?
  • Vous n’êtes pas pressé de bâtir une marque forte pour devenir incontournable dans votre marché?

Posez des actions régulières pour muscler votre marketing

Pour prévenir un creux éventuel dans le développement de vos ventes, vous devez non seulement bâtir, mais aussi maintenir vos actions de communications. Une marque qui ne communique pas est une marque qui n’est pas présente de façon continue dans l’unique place importante où elle doit vivre : dans la tête de vos clients et prospects.

Votre marketing et votre stratégie de marque sont comme l’entraînement physique : laissez-les aller quelques semaines et l’écart se fera sentir entre le marché et vous, plus vite que vous ne l’auriez souhaité.

Si un concurrent profite de votre inaction pour lancer une offensive commerciale, vous vous retrouverez à la case départ avec des outils peu performants, comme un site Web inactif.

En choisissant des professionnels en marketing comme ceux de Solocom, vous serez accompagné étape par étape pour implanter une marque forte et différenciée.